award for YSP director Peter Murray, museum director Diane Lees and artist Es Devlin


The Queen’s New Year UK Honors List has been announced for 2022 with a few big names in the art world appearing on the prestigious list of awards. Peter Murray, the founder and executive director of Yorkshire Sculpture Park (YSP), has been knighted. “Peter has led the organization for over four decades, starting with £ 1,000 and no employees, and now employs over 200 people, generating around £ 11.5million for the regional economy,” a statement from YSP. Diane lee CBE, who has run the Imperial War Museum for the past 12 years, has become a lady. The artist and designer Es Devlin, who designed the British pavilion for Expo 2020 in Dubai, received a CBE (Commander of the Order of the British Empire). Earlier this year, she unveiled Forest for Change (Global Goals Pavilion), a cover of 400 trees of 27 different species in the courtyard of Somerset House as part of the London Design Biennale. John gilhooly, the artistic and executive director of Wigmore Hall, home to the UK’s largest classical music concert program, has also been appointed CBE.

Artist Claudette Johnson, founding member of the BLK Art Group in the 1980s, received an MBE (Member of the Order of the British Empire) with William griffiths, director of the Milton Keynes Museum. Andrew Lovett, president of the Association of Independent Museums, pocketed an OBE (Officer of the Order of the British Empire). Other recipients include Laurie Magnus, the President of Historic England (CBE), Philippe charles, director of the Garfield Weston Foundation (OBE) and Roger highfield, Scientific Director of the Science Museum Group (OBE). Congratulations to all !


About Carlos V. Mitchell

Check Also

Wood Whittler proudly displays pieces at the Westmoreland Museum of American Art

For whittler Rod Cross of Bear Rocks, there is life in every block of wood. …